Follow Us



2017 NetVU Award Winners Honored for Outstanding Achievements

Network of Vertafore Users (NetVU) celebrated outstanding achievements in automation excellence, technology advocacy, leadership, volunteer service, and chapter management at an Awards Gala held during its 2017 NetVU Conference at the Music City Convention Center.

"Each year, we recognize those who have made significant and lasting contributions to the NetVU community and the insurance industry," says NetVU CEO Kitty Ambers. "These are individuals and organizations whose dedication and service have made NetVU's educational, networking and advocacy initiatives possible."

Winners were announced for the Automation Excellence Award (both carriers and agencies), Insurance Technology Advocate Award in Memory of Wade S. Dunbar Jr., Volunteer of the Year Award in Memory of James M. Gibson, Leadership Award in Memory of Louie E. Woodbury Jr., and Chairman's Award.

Automation Excellence Award

The Automation Excellence Award recognizes carriers, MGAs, and agencies that have demonstrated significant achievements in automation technology to promote productivity, profitability and service for NetVU members. Winners in this category have advanced cutting-edge ideas to enhance efficiency, increase profitability and streamline operations.

  • Automation Excellence Award, Regional Carrier – Selective Insurance Company
  • Automation Excellence Award, National Carrier – The Hartford
  • Automation Excellence Award, Small Agency – Patterson & Associates Insurance Agency
  • Automation Excellence Award, Large Agency – The Crichton Group

Insurance Technology Advocate Award in Memory of Wade S. Dunbar Jr.

This award is presented to an individual who has led the industry in technological advancement and provided leadership on an industry-wide basis. NetVU developed the award to recognize those who emulate Wade Dunbar's passion for streamlining the insurance process.

Winner – Ron Berg, executive director, IIIBA's Agents Council for Technology

 Volunteer of the Year Award in Memory of James M. Gibson

The award recognizes an individual for outstanding volunteer service to NetVU and its community of members during the past year, and has led through example and achieving results.

Winner – Janet Tuttle, operations manager, TDECU Insurance Agency

Leadership Award in Memory of Louie E. Woodbury Jr.

This award recognizes long-time leadership, proven achievement and contributions to NetVU and the industry. The recipient of this award is recognized as a leader in his community, the industry and within NetVU in support of its mission.

Winner – Kevin Wheeler, principal, Cardinal Insurance Services and past chairman of NetVU

Chairman's Award

The current NetVU chairman presents the Chairman's Award for service to NetVU during the past year. Awards in the past have been issued to members, Vertafore employees, insurance carriers and industry partners working in conjunction with the chairman on NetVU initiatives.

Winner – Jenny Petersen, systems administration manager, Brightway Insurance

Featured articles


Sapiens MR


The Email Chat is a regular feature of the ITA Pro magazine and website. We send a series of questions to an insurance IT leader in search of thought-provoking responses on important issues facing the insurance industry.


April 5th – 7th, 2020
The Diplomat Resort
Hollywood, FL
Become a member today to receive updates –


only online

Only Online Archive

ITA Pro Buyers' Guide

Vendor Views

Partner News